The Festival of 2015

The 26th edition of the Stockholm International Film Festival contained over 190 films from more than 70 countries. Among this year's news was the brand new film section, Stockholm Impact, and also an award for Best Documentary. The festival favorite, also the world-famous artist Ai Weiwei is coming to Stockholm for the first time ever. The festival's many years of collaboration with the artist have inspired the establishment of the Stockholm Impact Award; one of the world's largest film prizes, which is awarded for the first time in 2015 in collaboration with the City of Stockholm. The prize is awarded to filmmakers who raise important societal issues.

The festival is inaugurated with Jonas Carpignano's feature film debut »Mediterranea« which can also be streamed simultaneously via Festival on Demand. This year's centrepiece film is »Louder Than Bombs« by Joachim Trier and the festival is rounded off with Todd Hayne's film »Carol«, which also adorns this year's festival poster. For the first time, it will also be possible for Stockholm International Film Festival members to add their membership card directly to the film festival's app. In addition to the membership card, there is also the entire film program, Audience award voting, schedule and much more in the app.

This year's Festival poster

Winners at Stockholm Film Festival in 2015 

Best Film: Louder Than Bombs, Joachim Trier 
Best Debut: Mediterranea, Jonas Carpignano 
Best Director: László Nemes, Son of Saul 
Best Script: Deniz Gamze Ergüven & Alice Winocour, Mustang 
Best Cinematography: Manuel Dacosse, Evolution 
Best Actress: Julija Steponaityte, The Summer of Sangaile 
Best Actor: Koudous Seihon, Mediterranea 
Best Documentary: Behemoth, Liang Zhao 
Stockholm Impact Award: Leena Yadav, Parched 
Best Short Film Award: A Few Seconds, Nora El Hourch 
Stockholm Rising Star: Aliette Opheim 
Telia Film Award: Mediterranea, Jonas Carpignano 
FIPRESCI-priset: Macadam Stories, Samuel Benchetrit 
Stockholm Achievement Award: Ellen Burstyn 
Stockholm Lifetime Achievement Award: Stephen Frears 
Stockholm Visionary Award: Yorgos Lanthimos 
1 km film Grant: Jag vill nå dig, Victor Lindgren 
iFestival Award: Tisure, Adrian Geyer 

Subscribe to the festival's newsletter

Do not miss anything during the festival. Sign up for our newsletter here.