The Festival of 2011

The 2011 program featured more than 170 film premieres from more than 40 countries. The opening film is the internationally acclaimed »Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy« by Tomas Alfredson, the middle film is Andrea Arnold's brave Brontë portrayal »Wuthering Heights« and concludes Pedro Almodóvar's cross-genre »The Skin I Live In«. This year's Lifetime Achievement Award goes to the French actress Isabelle Huppert and the Stockholm Visionary Award is given to director Alejandro González Iñárritu. This year's film festival is dedicated to the recently deceased American director Sidney Lumet. Spotlight: Love Stories

This year's Spotlight is Love Stories. This universal theme features, among others, Drake Doremus' critically acclaimed »Like Crazy« with Jennifer Lawrence in one of the roles, Anne Fontaine's comedy »My Worst Nightmare« about love between class boundaries, and Tanya Wexler's star-studded »Hysteria«.

The first feature film scholarship in 2011 enables the film »Tenderness« by Sofia Norlin, which premieres two years later. The film is nominated for a Crystal Bear, competed at Tribeca Film Festival and received a Golden Bug for best photo in 2014.

The Festival poster of 2011 

Winners at the Stockholm Film Festival in 2011 

Best Film: Oslo, august 31st, Joachim Trier 
Best Debut: Paddy Considine, Tyrannosaur 
Best Script: Nadine Labaki, Thomas Bidegain, Jihad Hojeily, Rodney Al Haddi, Where Do We Go Now?
Best Actress: Yohanna Idha, Katinkas kalas 
Best Actor: Sergei Boriskov, Twilight Portrait 
Best Cinematography: Jakob Ihre, Oslo 31 augusti 
Best Score: Khaled Mouzannar, Where Do We Go Now?
Honorable Mention : Olivia Colman, Tyrannosaur & Julia Leigh, Sleeping Beauty 
Best Short Film: Beast, Attila Till 
FIPRESCI Award for Best Film: Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, Tomas Alfredson 
Stockholms Filmfond's Feature Film Grant: Lisa Aschan, Förvaret. 
Telia Film Award: Silver Tounges, Simon Arthur 
Silver Audience Award: 50/50. 
1 Km Film Grant: Gustav Danielsson, Tvillingen 
1 Km Film, Honorable Mention: Peter Grönlund, Gläntan 
Jameson iFestival: Little Theatres, Stephanie Dudley 
Stockholm Lifetime Achievement Award: Isabelle Huppert
Stockholm Visionary Award: Alejandro González Iñárritu  
L’Oréal Paris Rising Star 2011: Malin Buska


Photo: Alejandro González Iñárritu By: Carla Orrego Veliz

Subscribe to the festival's newsletter

Do not miss anything during the festival. Sign up for our newsletter here.