The Festival of 2010

This year's opening film was by Xavier Dolan's acclaimed debut »Heartbeat«, Debra Granik's low-intensity thriller »Winter's Bone« was the middle film and Ben Affleck's bank robber drama »The Town« ended. This year's Spotlight was Extreme politics. Some of the films under the theme are Chris Morris' political satire »Four Lions« and »The Last Circus«.

Star actresses get their breakthrough on a wide front during the festival in 2010. Debra Granik's »Winter's Bone« took home the award for best film, best female actress and the FIPRESCI jury award when horses and flowers were handed out and the brightest star was Jennifer Lawrence who had her big breakthrough with the film. Our own Hollywood star Alicia Vikander was also hailed as this year's Rising star with the motivation: “Already in this her first main role, Alicia Vikander impresses with a total presence and accuracy in the cinematic expression. She holds the spectator in a strong, fascinated grip from the first to the last frame. The jury is starstruck! ” Today she has a flourishing international acting career and an Oscar statuette in the category Best Supporting Actress for the role of Gerda Wegener in the film »The Danish Girl« (2015).

Stellan Skarsgård presents the honorary award to the American director Gus Van Sant in 2010. Who reacts by giving Stellan a slap. Stellan strikes back. The story goes back to when they recorded »Good Will Hunting« and Stellan tricked Van Sant that a normal party game in Sweden is just to hit each other in the face in that way.

This year's festival poster

Winners at the 2010 Stockholm Film Festival

Best Film: ”Winter’s Bone”, Debra Granik 
Best Debut: Phang Dang Di, ”Bi, Don't Be Afraid” 
Bästa manus: David Michôd, ”Animal Kingdom” 
Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence, ”Winter’s Bone” 
Best Actor: George Pistereanu,”Eu cand vreau sa fluier, fluier. 
Best Cinematography: Pham Quang Minh, ”Bi, Don't Be Afraid” 
Jameson Music Award: Magnus Börjesson & Fred Avril, ”Sound Of Noise” 
Honorable Mention, Best Ensemble Direction: Peter Mullan, ”Neds”. 
Best Short Film: ”Out of Love”, Birgitte Staermose 
Honorable Mention – Best Short Film: ”Megaheavy”, Fenar Ahmad 
FIPRESCI Award, Best Film: ”Winter’s Bone”, Debra Granik 
Telia Film Award: ”Monga”, Doze Niu 
Silver Audience Award: ”Waste Land”, Lucy Walker & ”This is England ’86”, Shane Meadows. 
1 km film Grant: Hugo Lilja, ”Återfödelsen”. 
Honorable Mention 1 km film: Karzan Kader, ”Bekas”. 
Honorable Mention 1 km film: Mikael Bundsen, ”Något börjar, något tar slut” 
iFestival: ”Sister”, Michael Rittmansberger. 
Stockholm Lifetime Achievement Award: Harriet Andersson  
Stockholm Visionary Award: Gus Van Sant  
L’Oréal Paris Rising Star: Alicia Vikander 

Photo: Gus Van Sant, By: Carla Orrego Veliz

Subscribe to the festival's newsletter

Do not miss anything during the festival. Sign up for our newsletter here.