The Festival of 2009

During the anniversary year, the Stockholm Film Festival attracted the largest audience to date - with 130,000 visits for the whole of 2009. The Stockholm Film Festival celebrates its 20th anniversary and shows films on a specially made ice screen in Kungsträdgården. Susan Sarandon is visiting to receive the Stockholm Lifetime Achievement Award and is helping to unveil the ice cinema screen before the cult classic »The Rocky Horror Picture Show« is shown to an excited audience. The screen consists of several tons of ice from the Torne River that was transported in 1227 to the capital to create a unique cinematic experience.

Lee Daniels held an emotionally charged Face2Face and over 180 films from 53 countries were shown over 12 film-filled days. In addition, 101 filmmakers and actors met the audience at a record number of Face2Face and Work-in-Progress. This year's ten most watched films were: »Up in the Air«, »The Fantastic Fox«, »Precious«, »The Limits of Control«, »The Road«. In this year's spotlight »Apocalypse - The time is now«, the festival looked at how the planet's future and environmental problems are reflected in the world of film. The theme films included »The Road« by John Hillcoat and the animated film »9« by Shane Acker. This year's new carpet was green and was rolled out for the gala premiere of the acclaimed documentary »The Cove«. At the Face2Face seminar »Time is now«, film critics met environmental experts to draw the line between reality and fiction.

This year's festival poster

Winners at the Stockholm Film Festival in 2009 

Best Film: “Dogtooth”, Yorgos Lanthimos 
Best Debut: Cary Joji Fukunaga, “Sin Nombre” 
Best Actress: Mo’Nique, “Precious” 
Best Actor: Edgar Flores,“Sin Nombre” 
Best Script: Eran Creevy, “Shifty” 
Best Cinematography: Christophe Beaucarne, “Mr. Nobody” 
Best Score: Krister Linder, “Metropia” 
Best Short: “Logorama” by François Alaux, Hervé de Crécy, Ludovic Houplain 
The FIPRESCI Award for Best Film: “Sin Nombre”, Cary Joji Fukunaga 
Honourable mention: “Precious”, Lee Daniels 
Telia Film Award: “Miss Kicki”, Håkon Liu 
Silver Audience Award: “The Cove”, Louie Psihoyos 
1 km film grant: Amanda Kernell, “Att dela allt” 
Honourable mention, 1 km film: Jöns Mellgren, “Den mörka ön” 
iFestival: “Pim, Pam, Pum”,Asier Urbieta and Andoni De Carlos 
Stockholm Lifetime Achievement Award: Susan Sarandon  
Stockholm Visionary Award: Luc Besson  
L’Oreal Paris Rising Star: Anastasios Soulis 

Bild: Susan Sarandon

Subscribe to the festival's newsletter

Do not miss anything during the festival. Sign up for our newsletter here.