The Festival of 2006

The 17th edition of the Stockholm Film Festival is inaugurated with »Little Children« by Todd Fields (»In the bedroom«). In 11 days, 170 films from more than 40 countries will be shown and this year's spotlight theme is »Arabica«. Lasse Hallström receives this year's Stockholm Lifetime Achievement Award and Darren Aronofsky receives the Stockholm Visionary Award. The festival is dedicated to the recently deceased Sven Nykvist. 2006 was a great audience success for the Stockholm Film Festival. The festival had a total audience of 89,000. In addition, 28,000 people came to the Junior Youth Festival and other activities. In total, this meant an audience of 117,000, an increase of 35 percent compared with 2005. 

This year's festival poster

Winners at Stockholm Film Festival in 2006 

Best Film: Sherrybaby, Laurie Collyer 
Stockholm Lifetime Achievement Award: Lasse Hallström 
Stockholm Visionary Award: Darren Aronofsky 
FIPRESCI Award for Best Film: Jindabyne, Ray Lawrence 
Stipendiet 1 Km Film Grant: Amanda Adolfsson
Audience Award: Little Miss Sunshine, Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris 
Mobile Movies Award: Tillsammans: Han och jag, Malin Erixon 
iFestival Award: Untitled Short Film, Lars Emil Árnason 

Photo: 2006-11-23, Face2Face Darren Aronfsky, Skandia, By: Cosby

Subscribe to the festival's newsletter

Do not miss anything during the festival. Sign up for our newsletter here.