The Festival of 2000

When one of film history's big movie stars comes to visit, it should be noticed. Lauren Bacall is awarded the Stockholm Lifetime Achievement Award in 2000 and the city is covered with her face on the festival poster. During a lunch at the classic restaurant Prinsen, she points out a number of local film personalities from the portraits on the wall with which she wants to have dinner. Thommy Berggren, Mikael Persbrandt, Nils-Petter Sundgren and Harriet Andersson are present. Persbrandt claims that he got a kiss on the mouth, Berggren that he had to hold her hand, but the truth is probably that Harriet Andersson came closest to Bacall. The two ladies discuss their marriages with Ingmar Bergman and Humphrey Bogart respectively.

In addition, the Stockholm Film Festival Junior is arranged for the first time in 2000. The purpose is to make quality films from all over the world available to children and young film lovers.

iFestival becomes gathering place for new exciting short films from around the world. Here, film fans cast their vote online and the film with the highest score wins this year's iFestival Award. 2000 is the year when the Stockholm Film Festival starts the world's first internet festival.

This year's festival poster

Winners at the Stockholms Film Festival in 2000 

Best Film: Ali Zaoua: Prince of the Streets
Honourable mention: Nico & Dani, Krampack, The Low Down, Jamie Thraves 
Best Debut: Billy Elliot, Stephen Daldry 
Best Script: Virilité, Ronan Girre 
Best Actress: Requiem for a Dream, Ellen Burstyn 
Best Actor: Chopper, Eric Bana 
Best Cinematography: George Washington, Tim Orr 
Best Short Film: Back Room, Guillem Morales 
Audience Award: Billy Elliot, Stephen Daldry / Boys Don’t Cry, Kimberly Peirce 
1 km film Grant: Christian Eklöw & Christopher Panov
1 km film Grant, Honourable mention: Moa & Malte, Jonas Embring 
iFestival WWW Award: Cloud Cover, Lisberh Svärling 
Stockholm Lifetime Achievement Award: Lauren Bacall 
FIPRESCI Award for Best Film: Billy Elliot, Stephen Daldry 
FIPRESCI Award, Honourable mention: Eating Air, Jasmine Kin Kia Ng, Kelvin Tong 
FIPRESCI Award, Northern Lights Section: Släpp hästarna lös, Erik Clausen / Tillsammans, Lukas Moodysson 

Subscribe to the festival's newsletter

Do not miss anything during the festival. Sign up for our newsletter here.