The Bronze Horse

The heaviest festival prize in the world, the 7,3 kilo Bronze Horse, has accompanied the Stockholm Film Festival since the start in 1990. Made by renowned graphic designer Fredrik Swärd, it is inspired by the Dala Horse, a well-known Swedish folklore figure. Every year the Bronze Horse is handed out to the winners of the Stockholm Lifetime Achievement Award, the Stockholm Visionary Award and Best Film. The Bronze Horse also has a sister, the Aluminum Horse, given to the winners in seven categories.

Past winners in all categories

The Aluminum Horse

Awarded the winners in following categories:

* Best Directorial Debut

* Best Music

* Best Cinematography

* Best Script

* Best Actress

* Best Actor

* Best Short Film

Stockholm Lifetime Achievement Award

An award presented to an individual in honor and acknowledgement of their contribution to the world of film. Previous recipients of this award are, among others Gena Rowlands, Lauren Bacall, David Lynch, Oliver Stone, Susan Sarandon, Claire Denis and Mike Leigh.

» Buy tickets here!

Stockholm Achievement Award

The newly established Stockholm Achievement Award was handed out to Willem Dafoe 2012 and Uma Thurman 2014.

» Buy tickets here!

Stockholm Visionary Award

Established in 2004, this award recognizes and encourages innovators and visionaries in contemporary cinema. It has previously been presented to Todd Solondz, Terry Gilliam, Darren Aronofsky and Wes Anderson, Peter Greenaway and Roy Andersson among others.

» Buy tickets here!

Stockholm Impact Award

In 2015, Stockholm International Film Festival and the City of Stockholm founded a new international film award: Stockholm Impact Award, with a prize sum of 1 million SEK. Impact is a section for headstrong visionaries who reflect our contemporary world. Between seven and ten films from all over the world will participate in the competition. All the competing directors will be invited to the festival to present their films and to take part in a seminar held at the City Hall in Stockholm. The prize of 1 million SEK is made possible with the contribution from City of Stockholm and should be used as support for further work and development of new film projects. 

Stockholm Film Festival Feature Film Award

In May 2011, the Stockholm International Film Festival launched the Feature Film Award, with Telia as the main financier and support from the Swedish Film Institute, Europa Sound & Vision and Dagsljus and with NonStop Entertainment as a distributor. In 2012 we are also proud to present SVT as a new collaborator.

The award goes to a project with a female director, and in the selection process we are looking for strong stories with a clear vision. The nominees are selected through an evaluation based on the script, previous productions, and the team's ability to carry out production according to schedule, budget and audience potential. Winners:

2011 - Sofia Norlin for Broken Hill Blues
2012 - Amanda Adolfsson - Young Sophie Bell
2013 - Fia-Stina Sandlund - She's Wild Again Tonight

The award has a value of a minimum of SEK5.4 million and the winning film will then be produced during the next two years and have its World Premiere at the festival in November 2014.

More about this award

Rising Star

The award is given to a young Swedish actor or actress who, through splendid performances on the silver screen, has shown true potential to become a big star in the future. The stars of tomorrow — right here, right now!

Silver Audience Award

For this award, the audience can vote for their favorite film from any section of the festival. The winner receives over EUR25 000 worth of Star! and Silver commercial air time. Every audience member who votes participates in a competition to win a cinematic surprise.


One film from the Open Zone section, is picked by the International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) and honored with a special award for for Best Film. Stockholm International Festival became the fourth in the world, after Cannes, Berlin and Venice, to host a FIPRESCI jury.

The 1 km Film Scholarship

Established in 1990, the purpose of this scholarship is to support young Swedish filmmakers. The scholarship is worth up to EUR50 000. It consists of production assistance provided by the Swedish Film Institute, Cinepost Studios and Dagsljus to make a short film. Since the start, filmmakers such as Amanda Adolfsson, Jens Jonsson, Babak Najafi, Gustav Danielsso, Jon Skog and Ninja Thyberg have been awarded the scholarship.


Awarded to the winner of our online short film competition. The films are screened on the official festival website and the audience vote for their favorite.